2018 Class of Inductees, Scholar Athletes, and special award winners feted at Gala Induction Ceremony!

The Maine Sports Hall of Fame proudly inducted its Class of 2018 on June 3rd at the Collins Center for the Arts on the University of Maine campus before an appreciative audience of several hundred. Jason Bartlett, Dana Bullen, Reagan Carey, Patrick Dempsey, Dewey DeWitt, Tammy Jacques, Dick Meader, Anita Murphy, Carl Nelson, Ryan Weston (representing his father LeRoy Patterson), Bobby Wilder, and Kristen Kenoyer Woodland gave acceptance speeches which were inspirational, oftentimes humorous, and truly heartfelt demonstrating how each Inductee discovered and excelled in their chosen paths and, in the process, made "A Better Maine Through Sport!"

Steve Jones, the Head Equipment Manager at the University of Maine received a Lifetime Achievement Award and Blaise MacDonald, Head Coach of the Colby Men's Ice Hockey team, and Amy Vachon, Head Coach of the Maine Women's Basketball team accepted "A Better Maine Through Sport" Awards.
Five of Maine's outstanding High School senior Scholar Athletes received $5000 scholarships for their achievements in both academics and athletics. Jess Brown (Portland HS), Shelby Cowin (Greenville HS), Luke Groothof (Yarmouth HS), Jake Martin (York HS), and Annika Rogers (Islesboro Central School) made all of us proud with their poised and polished speeches!
As Patrick Dempsey stated in his speech, "the big theme that you hear from all the Inductees is the importance of teamwork. You can achieve anything with a good team around you. Your team will make you rise up and give your best performance."
The MSHOF team, who put on an entertaining and informative program, included Bill Green, 2014 MSHOF Inductee and current Board Member, who performed both hosting duties and lent his distinctive voice to video tributes of the Inductees. The videos were produced by MSHOF Board Member Brian Corcoran and his outstanding team at Shamrock Sports & Entertainment. Lisa Hook, Chair of the MSHOF Scholarship Committee, personalized the stories of each of our Scholar Athletes for the appreciative audience.
Finally, Dick Whitmore, formerly the longtime Head Basketball Coach at Colby and currently the Chairman of the MSHOF Board, put his stamp and personal mantra of being "the best of the best" on each one of his inspirational introductions of the Inductees.
The Ceremony would not have been possible without the support of the MSHOF Board of Directors and, most importantly, the generous contributions of our Sponsors: Lead Sponsors were L.L. Bean, Colby College, and Colby College Alumni; Major Sponsors were Cross Insurance, Empire City Casino at Yonkers Raceway, MEMIC, and the University of Maine; and Program Sponsors were Bar Harbor Bank & Trust, Downeast Group at Morgan Stanley, Eaton Peabody, Hews Company, Meadowlands, Norway Savings Bank, Old Port Advisors, People's United Bank, Pine Tree Seafood, Vineland Farms, Sunday River, TideSmart Global, TR Dillon, University of Maine Foundation, UNUM, and Woodin & Company.

Thanks to our Inductees, Award winners, Scholar Athletes, Sponsors, and the professional staff at the Collins Center for the Arts for a truly special day! Special thanks to Kelly Pinney-Michaud and her invaluable assistants for the day, Amanda Whitmore, Hannah Michaud, Laurie Friedman, and Marina Friedman. Look for pictures and video soon!

Contact Us

Maine Sports Hall of Fame
P.O. Box 2619
South Portland, ME 04116

Phone (207) 272-2178

Our Mission

The Maine Sports Hall of Fame was established in 1972 for the purpose of: 1) appointing and bestowing recognition awards and scholarships to outstanding Maine high school scholar-athletes; and, 2) to formally honor and memorialize Maine athletes and sports figures who have brought distinction and honor to the state of Maine.

Stacks Image p881_n79
© 2017 Maine Sports Hall of Fame Contact Me