Maine Sports Hall of Fame to hold 45th Induction Ceremony

Portland's Merrill Auditorium will be the site of this year's Maine Sports Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony. Nine athletes and coaches will be honored on September 20, 2020.

"This is one of the most diverse groups we've ever had," said MSHOF President Brian Corcoran of Shamrock Sports. "We are looking forward to our usual stunning ceremony and we have a few new surprises planned."

Links to tickets, sponsorship and scholarship contributions will be available in early February.

Maine Sports Hall of Fame announces nine inductees for 2020

The Maine Sports Hall of Fame will induct five men and four women in its 45th induction ceremony Sept. 20 at Merrill Auditorium in Portland.

By percentage, it is the largest class of women inducted by the organization that was established in 1972. Five women were among the 12 inductees in 2016. “I’m thinking this is one of the most diverse groups we’ve had in terms of a variety of sports,” said new President Brian Corcoran, CEO and founder of Shamrock Sports & Entertainment. “I’m really pleased with the number of women.”

Read more

MSHOF Announces Leadership Transition!

Dick Whitmore, longtime chairman of the Maine Sports Hall of Fame, is proud to announce that legendary broadcaster Bill Green will replace retiring MSHOF Executive Director Mary Mitchell Friedman and that Brian Corcoran, CEO of Shamrock Sports & Entertainment, will replace Whitmore as chairman of the Board, effective Dec. 31.

Read more

Inductees, Scholars, and Award Winners feted at Annual Induction and Awards Ceremony Gala!

The Maine Sports Hall of Fame proudly inducted its Class of 2019 on May 19that Portland’s Merrill Auditorium before an appreciative audience of several hundred. Tom Austin, Andy Bedard, Pat Gallant-Charette, Eric Fenton, Sam Ladd, Wally Lafountain, Jess Leclerc, Steve Martin, Wes McCauley, Kevin Rand, Nancy Storey, and Tim Wilson gave acceptance speeches which were inspirational, humorous, thought-provoking and heartfelt demonstrating how each Inductee discovered and excelled in their chosen paths and, in the process, made "A Better Maine Through Sport!"

Read more

Show more posts

Contact Us

Maine Sports Hall of Fame
P.O. Box 2
Cumberland, ME 04021

Phone (207) 807-7666

Our Mission

The Maine Sports Hall of Fame was established in 1972 for the purpose of: 1) appointing and bestowing recognition awards and scholarships to outstanding Maine high school scholar-athletes; and, 2) to formally honor and memorialize Maine athletes and sports figures who have brought distinction and honor to the state of Maine.

Stacks Image p881_n79
© 2017 Maine Sports Hall of Fame Contact Me